Communications Week honors students, Earth Day

Gary McCormick, director of partnership development for HGTV, will keynote student award ceremony

By Heather Radi-Bermudez

As part of Earth Day’s 40th Anniversary, green initiatives and sustainability will be the theme of the 2010 Communications Week, scheduled for April 5-9 on the Biscayne Bay Campus.

The annual FIU School of Journalism and Mass Communication “Communications Week” features lectures, presentations, workshops and other activities to celebrate the discipline and professions of journalism and communication. The purpose is to supplement classroom instruction by exposing students to professional development, local and national industry experts and most importantly, recognizing those students who have excelled academically.

The week starts off Tuesday, April 6 with “The Big Chill in Washington: Prospects for Climate Change and Energy Legislation,” a presentation by John Broder, political correspondent for the Washington bureau of The New York Times. This special event, which is being co-sponsored by the Student Government Association and The New York Times, will take place from 2 to 3:00 p.m. at the Mary Ann Wolfe Theatre located in the Wolfe University Center.

On Thursday, April 8, a career panel will include academics and leading communication specialists from around the FIU and South Florida community. Virgil Smith, vice president of talent management at Gannett; Roberto Schaps, president of Turkel Advertising; and Debby Riston, director of human resources at Zubi Advertising will lead the discussion on employer trends, employee expectations and what to do and know when searching for and landing a job. Lunch and refreshments will be served.

Following the day-long activities, the week will culminate at the 19th Annual Student Celebration and Awards Ceremony, which will feature a keynote speech by Gary McCormick, director of partnership development for HGTV and PRSA National Chair and CEO.

The evening will honor outstanding students in all SJMC majors and award the 2010-2011 scholarship recipients. Among the student award achievements, the Outstanding Alumni Award will be presented by last year’s recipient Pamela Silva Conde ’03 to this year’s Annabel Beyra ’93. A celebration reception will immediately follow the ceremony.

All events are free of charge. Student IDs will be swiped at the door to assist those faculty members offering extra credit for attendance. The SJMC encourages participation and attendance by all faculty, students, staff and alumni.

For more  information on speakers, locations and times, visit the SJMC calendar or contact Heather Radi-Bermudez at 305-919-4411.

Comments are closed.