12th Annual Torch Awards Gala tickets sold out

On Saturday, March 23, 2013, more than 600 attendees will enjoy a night of exceptional food, drinks and entertainment at the 12th Annual Torch Awards Gala. For the first time, the gala – which honors exceptional alumni and faculty – will feature a charity casino fundraiser. Attendees will have the opportunity to help FIU hit the jackpot with a variety of games such as blackjack, Caribbean stud poker, craps and roulette.

In a university first, tickets to the awards ceremony, held this year at JW Marriott Marquis Miami, sold out a month before the event.


The following alumni, faculty and community leaders will be honored:

Charles E. Perry Young Alumni Visionary Award

Shannon Ford ’99

Community Leadership Award

Mike Tomás ’90

Beth Davalos MSW ’95, LCSW

Outstanding Achievement Award

Adalio T. Sanchez MBA ’87

Outstanding Faculty Award

Dr. Hilary Landorf

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Teresita Fernández ’90, College of Architecture + The Arts

Digno E. Caballero ’88, College of Arts & Sciences

Alberto Lorenzo ’74, Athletics

Mario Trueba MBA ’87, College of Business

Conchy P. Argiz ’75, College of Education

Jorge Munilla ’97, College of Engineering and Computing

Joel Gandara ’03, Honors College

John McKibbon ’75, Chaplin School of Hospitality and Tourism Management

MacAdam Glinn, Esq. ’07, College of Law

Reinaldo E. Jaffet ’81, ’94, College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Dianne Festa ’84, School of Journalism & Mass Communication

Carol Novak ’91, Robert Stempel College of Public Health and Social Work

The gala honors serves as a fundraiser for the future Alumni Center and the First Generation Scholarship Fund.

To learn more, visit FIUalumni.com/torch2013.


Comments are closed.