Interactive: The Lost Tribes of Israel around the world

According to the Bible, there were 12 Tribes of Israel: Reuben, Simeon, Levi, Judah, Dan, Naphtali, Gad, Asher, Issachar, Zebulun, Benjamin and Joseph. They divided into two kingdoms, with 10 tribes in the north and 2 in the south. In the 8th century, Assyrian invaders conquered Israel and exiled the 10 northern tribes. The southern tribes of Benjamin and Judah remained, and most Jews today are believed to be their descendants. What happened to the other 10 tribes remains one of history’s enduring questions. Some suggest that the tribes dispersed and were absorbed into other populations, raising the possibility that their descendants are scattered around the world.

This map depicts places in the world (shown in red) where various groups have claimed to be a Lost Tribe of Israel. Click on the links to read news coverage about these people.

Click here to view a larger graphic.


More from our feature on Papua New Guinea:

Read more about Professor Tudor Parfitt’s research on the Lost Tribes of Israel. >

Watch a mini-documentary of the research. >

Hear from the students who accompanied Parfitt to Papua New Guinea. >

See a slideshow of Gogodala art and culture. >

The videographer’s story: Documenting the expedition. >



Comments are closed.